Selfish

SELFISH - 40 humanitarian workers and their loved ones speak from the heart

A documentary by Stéphane Santini and Géraldine André, narrated by Lambert Wilson
Directed by: Stéphane SANTINI – Géraldine ANDRE – Laurence HOENIG – Pierre Yves BERNARD

Synopsis

This film is different in both its form and the way it was written.

War, emergency, pandemics and hunger. Humanitarian workers are used to working in the most varied and extreme missions and contexts across the planet. However, few of them venture openly into the world of personal feelings. For this film, forty humanitarian workers and their loved ones did just that, speaking without reserve about the risk, the commitment, the first mission, the sense of powerlessness, the encounters, the passion, the return home and the unspeakable things they’ve witnessed.

This film, which is logically about humanitarian workers’ commitment to other people, also explores the question of their selfishness in choosing to do this kind of work. Each person, in their own words, tells us about their feelings and experiences. Openly and straightforwardly, they tell us who they are and speak of their commitment to others, their doubts, their weaknesses and the images that haunt them.

In this film, the humanitarians are not the only ones to bear witness – the women and men who share their private and personal lives also tell their stories. The result is an original and intimate documentary that provides a fascinating insight into the inner worlds of humanitarian workers both in the field and away from the action.

MSF Opened its doors to us

Born of exchanges between humanitarian workers and the producers, the original idea took time to germinate and take shape. This film couldn’t have been made from the outside. We needed to enter the reality of this world and connect with the true feelings of the participants. So we asked Médecins Sans Frontières to open its doors to us. In allowing this unprecedented documentary to be made, MSF is lifting the veil on a way of life that is as gripping as it is unique, affording us an insight into the impacts of their life choices and the issues they face each day.

Reviews

I was deeply moved by the images and testimonies in the film: the images, by their evocative power and sometimes their poetry. The testimonies, by their simplicity and sincerity. I did not come out of this film untouched. I am sure that it will be the same for the future audiences.

— Jean-Claude PACHE

It was so moving. The film is beautiful.

— Ally

Sharing these intimate moments was a real privilege. I hope this film reaches as many people as possible.

— Pauline

A very beautiful film, full of subtlety and complexity that makes you think.

— Romaine

An exciting and very moving insight into this commitment that is so fascinating and strange at the same time.

— Luc

A beatiful film filled with emotion and truth.

— Mavia

With this film we've come back down to earth. Magnificent selfishness opens to questioning.

— Carol

A long, long life to this wonderful code-breaking movie. A deep lesson in selfishness.

— Virginie

It's very strong. Sobering. Overwhelming.

— Lambert

This documentary is extremely touching... Through images and interviews, you have managed to show the complexity of humanitarian engagement, with humility and without filter.

— Virginie

What a hit! This movie should be seen by everyone, settled as we are in our comfortable daily life.

— Jean Charles

A film that is so touching and full of poetry.

— Gaëlle

Press

Watch the movie

This film is available on a video-on-demand platform here

Share your thoughts and feelings

You can share your thoughts and feelings about the film, contact the production team or request a press kit via the following address: contact@egoiste.film

Égoïste

EGOÏSTE – 40 humanitaires et leurs proches se livrent sans détour

Un film documentaire de Stéphane Santini et Géraldine André, Raconté par Lambert Wilson
Réalisation : Stéphane SANTINI – Géraldine ANDRE – Laurence HOENIG – Pierre Yves BERNARD

Synopsis

Un film différent dans sa forme comme dans son écriture

La guerre, l’urgence, les pandémies ou encore la faim. Partout sur la planète, les humanitaires sont habitués aux missions et aux terrains les plus extrêmes et les plus heurtés. A l’inverse, rares sont les humanitaires qui s’aventurent sur le terrain de l’intime. 40 humanitaires et leurs proches ont franchi ce pas pour se livrer sans détours sur le risque, l’engagement, la première fois, l’impuissance, les rencontres, la passion, le retour et l’indicible.

Dans ce film, logiquement tourné vers les autres, la question de l’égoïsme de celles et ceux qui s’engagent s’est aussi posée et imposée comme une évidence. En dehors de tout contexte géopolitique et sanitaire, chacun avec ses mots, son regard, son expérience, nous emmène là où les humanitaires ne vont jamais : entre ombre et lumière. Sans fard et sans artifice, les témoins de ce film se livrent sur ce qu’ils sont, sur leur engagement pour les autres, leurs doutes, leurs fêlures ou les images qui les hantent.

Dans ce film, les humanitaires ne sont pas les seuls à témoigner. Avec eux et pour la première fois, celles et ceux qui partagent leurs vies intimes et personnelles racontent. Autant d’histoires de vies et de double vies, au cœur de l’hyper réalité du monde, dans un film documentaire inédit, cinématographique et intime.

MSF nous a ouvert ses portes

Né d’échanges entre des humanitaires et les réalisateurs, l’idée originale a pris du temps à germer, à s’incarner. Pour réaliser ce film, il était impossible de le faire de l’extérieur. Nous avions besoin d’accéder à la réalité de ce monde et à la sincérité de ses volontaires. C’est pourquoi nous avons demandé à Médecins Sans Frontières de nous ouvrir ses portes. En permettant la réalisation de ce film documentaire inédit, MSF lève le voile sur un mode de vie aussi saisissant que singulier. Un immersion au cœur des questions du quotidien comme celles des choix de vie.

Avis

Les images et les témoignages du film m’ont profondément ému : Les images,par leur puissance évocatrice et parfois leur poésie. Les témoignages, par leur simplicité et leur sincérité. Je ne suis pas ressorti indemne de ce film. Je suis certain qu’il en sera de même pour les futurs spectateurs.

— Jean-Claude

C’était tellement émouvant. Le film est magnifique.

— Ally

Un privilège d’avoir pu partager ces moments intimes. Je vous souhaite que ce film touche le plus de monde possible.

— Pauline

Un très beau film tout en nuance et en complexité qui fait réfléchir.

— Romaine

Un éclairage passionnant et très émouvant sur cet engagement si fascinant et étrange à la fois.

— Luc

Magnifique film rempli d’émotions, et de vérité.

— Mavia

Avec ce film nous sommes redescendus sur terre. L’égoïsme magnifique qui ouvre l’interrogation.

— Carol

Une belle et longue route à ce merveilleux film qui casse les codes. Belle leçon d’égoïsme.

— Virginie

C’est très fort. Sobre. Bouleversant.

— Lambert

Ce documentaire est extrêmement touchant... Vous avez réussi à travers les images et interviews à montrer la complexité de l’engagement humanitaire tout en pudeur et sans filtre.

— Virginie

Quel coup de poing ! Bien installé dans notre petit confort quotidien, ce film devrait être vu par tous.

— Jean Charles

Un film tellement touchant et plein de poésie.

— Gaëlle
02.03.2020, Léman Bleu TV

Genève à chaud - Egoïste

Voir
05.03.2020, Le Faucigny

L'engagement, l'humanitaire et la part d'égoïsme

Lire

Le Film

Ce film est disponible sur une plateforme de vidéo à la demande ici

Partagez votre ressenti

Pour partager votre ressenti, contactez l’équipe de production ou demander un dossier de presse, écrivez-nous à l’adresse suivante: contact@egoiste.film